Profile for UCCSU’s Election Newsletter

Campaign Poster One

Vote 4 the POWER to get things done.

Name: Ian Power

Age: 22

Where do you come from: Butlerstown, Waterford.

Course: Arts 3: Economics & Politics

The main reason you think you are the best person for the job:

I have the experience as current Societies President, I’m hard working, approachable and I want to tackle the community perception of the Union in UCC. Every year people say they want to promote the Union on a wider scale, it has yet to happen. I want to follow through on the empty promises of previous years. It can be done and I will work hard to do it.

What are the three main things you would like to accomplish?

I want to build a more user-friendly UCCSU website. I want to make sure that every student knows the web address and that they know it’s the first place to go for information about UCC and the Union. I want to be proactive in promoting the Union and its facilities to UCC students. I want to work hard and do the job well.

Campaign Slogan: Vote 4 the POWER to get things done.

What are your stances on the referenda items:

  • I will be voting Yes to USI; there is power in numbers when fighting fees.
  • I will be voting Yes to the new UCCSU Constitution.
  • I will be voting Yes to the Common Room Levy to ensure its survival.
  • I will be voting Yes to the Sports Plan to improve UCC sports facilities.
Leave a Reply

